Heart be still

This past Tuesday was the last night of Neo Con which also happens to coincide with the best parties of the week. My favorite of all of the hot and sweaty designer-infested parties is always held by this carpet manufacturer in what is now their old showroom. So I squished my boobs into my new dress from the Gap (if my college friends could see me now) and made my way semi-nakedly to get some free drinks and laugh at all of the drunken co-workers who will no doubt do many walks of shame in the hallways of their offices in the upcoming weeks.

We headed upstairs to the party and were immediately hit with hot sweaty air and crowds of people splashing their cocktails all over the place. CG and I headed towards the back to find some of our friends and secure ourselves some dirty vodka. We were all standing around and I was struggling to hear anything but the music being played from the booth behind me which was covered in silver party streamers. The music is always bumpin but this year had a little more sass. People were actually singing along and dancing (including the waitstaff) not because of the ten million free martinis they had drunk...no no, this time there was a woman putting the needle on the record and it just so happened that she was like one of my biggest idols growing up and someone who I still listen to on an incredibly regular basis. That's right bitches, Lady Miss Fuckin Kier was droppin the beats for this here NeoCon party. Heart be fuckin still!

I can still remember very vividly exactly where I was the first time I heard the World Clique album. I was eight years old at an overnight summer camp for Jewish kids and it was talent show night. I was sitting on the new wooden bleachers they had made to go along with the new children's theater and this girl who I had a huuuuge crush on and another one of her friends did a dance to "World Clique". As soon as I got home I ran out and bought that tape...yes, at that time it was a tape. I listened to it over and over again until it busted and eventually bought it, along with all of the other ep's, remixes and Sampleadelic Relics on cd. When I dj-ed in jr. high and a little bit of high school Lady Miss was my idol. The first girlfriend I ever had shared the same love for Deee Lite as I did and we used to play them any time we were in the car together.

I tried rushing out to see her at Halstead market days two years in a row but the first year she was late as hell (diva) and then her equipment didn't work. The second year she seemed all sorts of cracked out but I still stayed and watched and loved her.  This party on Tuesday, she was on point. She made it funky and everyone was enjoying themselves. I thought someone was lying to me when they said she was the one spinning but I rushed over to look for myself and there she was, being fabulous behind the turntables. So I found someone with a camera and asked if they would take my picture with her. When I went up to Lady Miss and professed my love, she was so incredibly gracious and sweet and didn't pause for a second when I asked if she would pose with me.

Groove is in the heart baby

older shit || newer shit

Mimseylou signing off - 2006-06-28

haaappy (mostly) pride - 2006-06-27

I fell in love this week - 2006-06-21

ranting for no reason - 2006-06-19

Heart be still - 2006-06-15