ranting for no reason

Within the last few years there has been an EXTREME pussification of men, so much so that there are a lot of boys walking around who I've found prettier than a lot of the women I've seen (and definitely prettier than a few of the girls I've dated). In fact, just this morning as I was standing on the El platform waiting for my overpacked cattle car, there was a little hipster dude in cutoff shorts and aviators practicing his ballet moves. I shit you not, he went through the whole pointing, plie-ing thing like this dude except his junk wasn't all hanging out (praise the lawd cuz I would've had to throw him off the train platform.)

But wait, there's more. Not only has this spread to our hipsters, the homeless are becoming as metrosexual as they possibly can be as well. Just over the platform from where I was standing there was a homeless man who literally sashayed down the street with the intensity and fierceness I've only seen RuPaul pull off. He almost gave three snaps in z formation as he rounded the corner. I was assuming that maybe in his heyday he had gone to Barbizon modeling school but when he couldn't find work he took to street life. I must say, he probably was the best looking homeless person I've ever seen.

So after all of this I get on the train this morning and the front page of the Red Eye is talking about how men need to return to being men...and how do they do this? STOP GOING TO CHICK FLICKS! DON'T CARRY AROUND LITTLE DOGS! DRINK BEER! GRUNT! PUT YOUR HANDS IN YOUR PANTS AND PLAY WITH YOUR LITTLE WEINER WHILE WAITING FOR THE TRAIN! Aha! Finally the backlash against metrosexuality!! Poor men aren't going to know how the hell they should be acting because everyone is telling them something different. But seriously, seriously can't you guys make up your own fucking minds? If it's not one extreme it's the other. Stop being chauvinistic pussies!

On the one hand I shouldn't care, I don't have to sleep with them, but on the other hand I am so sick of all this crap. Men should just be whoever the hell they want to be. If they're sissies they're sissies, if they eat meat and potatoes so be it. The one thing I can't stand is when I have to be around "macho" guys who are so emasculated by the thought of a lesbian stealing their thunder that they have to spit hateful crap out of their mouths. Like calling me a "dyke" or giving me the evil eye is supposed to make them feel better about the fact that I get more vagina than they do. Assholes.

Truthfully, I have no idea where all of this is coming from...maybe it's because I just got back from Iowa...but nothing happened there that would stir all of this up. The last time I even got called a dyke was probably two or three years ago after going to the Cher concert and then meeting a friend at Mother's, which is quite possibly my worst nightmare of a bar besides McGee's.

You know what, screw all of this...it's a beautiful day outside and there are people like this man who are here to teach us the rights and wrongs in the world. I have no idea where he was when I was trying to find a prom date but I'm sure he would've rocked my world.

older shit || newer shit

Mimseylou signing off - 2006-06-28

haaappy (mostly) pride - 2006-06-27

I fell in love this week - 2006-06-21

ranting for no reason - 2006-06-19

Heart be still - 2006-06-15