haaappy (mostly) pride

While certain things in my life performed miracles this last weekend, my liver was not one of them.

Friday was truly an amazing day. I got dressed up in my power lesbian suit, kitten heels and eyeliner and made my way downtown for a very important interview. Not knowing how long it takes to get downtown these days I was in front of the building almost exactly a half hour early so I watched the tourists go by and quizzed myself on whatever questions could possibly come up that I didn't want to answer just so that I would have something prepared. The 30 minutes passed and I made my way into the building and had a very nice hour and a half interview and was told that I would hear this week about a second interview...so PLEASE CROSS YOUR FINGERS! If I get this job it is likely that my brain will have to exercise a lot harder than it has for the last few years, which means that my entries might get better! And we'd all like for that to happen now wouldn't we?

I took the train home and when I checked my phone there were no less than 5 messages from my stepmom which all added up to about 30 minutes of her talking to my voicemail. The kicker is that these were all about CG and my upcoming wedding and they were all, wait for it....wait for it....nice! Yes, these were nice voicemails, from out of nowhere! And she actually approved the wording for our invitations without her name in it! I was floored. I thought for sure she would want her name across the top of the invitation in bold verdana seriff font at 24 pica with the rest of the invitation in 9 pica Times New Roman. This was nothing short of a miracle.

What further makes me believe in the power of my lucky thongs (and yes I was wearing my lucky ones that day but mostly just for the interview) is that when I got back to work (after rushing home to change out of my fancy power lesbian suit into some casual shit) my boss came in an hour later and wanted to meet with me. I was not looking forward to this meeting at all. I have increasingly gotten annoyed by work and find it incredibly hard to get out of bed in the mornings knowing where I have to go. Well, we start off the meeting and he basically tells me that I am too good for my company and that he would totally understand if I quit and worked elsewhere because my goals are beyond what my company can give me right now. After I picked my jaw up off the floor and tried to figure out if I had mistakenly emailed him the link to this blog I started getting a little nervous, like was I going to have a job at the end of the day? He went on to tell me that my job is totally safe here and that I can basically work here for as long as I want to and look for another job at the same time. I mean HOLY SHITBALLS!! So yeah, wow, that's all I can say about that. PRAISE THE LUCKY UNDERWEAR!!


Friday night we went out for our friend's birthday and I really need to give props to my liver (at least for this night). We started out at the Twisted Spoke, where I had a nice large glass of whiskey. Truth be told I was tipsy after that one drink. We were supposed to stay there for dinner but everyone sitting outside seemed to be camping out so we decided to go to the Mexican restaurant across the street. Obviously I went for the margaritas because I cannot be at a Mexican restaurant without getting some of those. As an aside: I do NOT recommend this restaurant at all. The food was pretty blah, the tortilla chips were stale and kind of soggy and the margaritas were WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY overpriced. Like way. When we finished up over there we walked to a new bar in Wicker Park called 5 Star Bar or something like that (I don't know for sure because the evening got a little fuzzy at this point). There are two things I know for sure about this point in the evening 1) I was back onto whiskey 2) I managed to have a twenty minute conversation with my grandma....not sure how that turned out but I haven't had anyone show up for an intervention so I'm sure it was ok. When it was time to leave I thought maybe we were going home, but no, we walked past some random art gallery that was having an opening with a dj and a Sierra Nevada keg, so obviously we had to stop in for a couple of hours. So then came the beer which I'm sure I only enjoyed because I was already too drunk to notice that I was drinking beer (I am not a beer drinker in case you didn't know). I managed to walk out of there on two feet (instead of on all fours) and after much animosity and name calling left my friends so that they could go on to another bar and CG and I could go home where I could pass out and convince myself to not get sick.


Saturday was pretty nice. We had some therapy out in the burbs and then made it back to the city so that we could join the rest of the hipsters at the Intonation Festival. There were a LOT of horrible outfits and more than that there were just a lot of kids there who were trying way too hard, it was kind of sad. You could just look around and see people so uncomfortable in their own skin...I think that's better suited for an Emo show, not for a rock show. We had a pretty good time, the weather was gorgeous, but the vibe just wasn't really there. The bands were pretty so-so and I had more fun and entertainment watching this cute baby who was next to us who was there with his rocker parents. They were really awesome, I chatted with the mom for a bit and she just seemed so laid back, it was fun to watch. The baby was super cute and so chill! He had these huge ear plugs in and he wasn't fidgeting with them at all. He climbed over by me and I got to play with him for a little while. We've decided (actually it is CG's brilliant idea) that when we go to the Pitchfork Festival we're going to have a contest to see who can create the ugliest most ridiculously hipster outfit at the show. The trick is, you can only use $5 to go to the thrift store to purchase part of your outfit, the rest has to come from your own closet. I see a lot of sewing in my future. The whole day was not a complete loss though, I got to meet Lady Sovereign and her set was actually really great. That girl can rap with the best of em and the British accent makes it at least ten times more fun to listen to.

We got home pretty early and I hadn't really drank very much because I was saving room in my liver for the pride parade on Sunday. I woke up incredibly bright-eyed and bushy tailed and annoyed poor CG with lots of rolling around in bed repeatedly telling her "Haaaaaaaaappy Pride Haaaaaaaaaaaaappy Pride". Finally I got up and made us breakfast and let her nap for another ten minutes. Of course my bright mood was quickly muted when I looked outside and noticed that it was chilly and rainy. No biggie though, we made it out to the parade area and I got us some coffee and we joined the rest of our HRC peeps and got ready to march with our flag. By the time we finished marching the sun had come out. I only saw one ex girlfriend along the parade route, which is always better than seeing multiple, Since we were the second "float" in the entire parade we had plenty of time to run back and join our friends to watch the rest and enjoy some alcoholic beverages. About a pint and a half of whiskey later and three jello shots later, I wasn't feeling any pain. I remember there being a walk-off in the hallway, I remember thinking "Wow I should really eat something and maybe have some water", I remember having three cigarettes, I vaguely remember pushing my friends in a shopping cart to and from Hydrate

and I also remember not wanting to leave the party we were at but CG really wanted to go home so I had to respect her wishes. I believe I told her "I'm ok to like, stand up on my own, but I don't think I'm ok to make out". I'm quite the charmer no? It was like I was hit with the lesbian version of erectile dysfunction which is pretty embarrassing. It's a good thing CG didn't try to make out with me because three hours after I passed out, I was getting ridiculously ill. I then spent the next 5 or 6 hours getting sick every hour on the hour. Wash. Rinse. Repeat. It was not a fun time. I forced myself to go into work but left a few hours later and wound up on the couch watching a repeat of the Italy vs. Australia game (which I'm pretty sad about, I wanted the Aussies to win). I am feeling like a semi-normal human being today which is nice, especially since I have to go to T's tonight for a soccer benefit.

That's all from over here for now, keep yer fingers crossed for me and if you see me drinking tonight, please take the alcohol out of my hands.

older shit || newer shit

Mimseylou signing off - 2006-06-28

haaappy (mostly) pride - 2006-06-27

I fell in love this week - 2006-06-21

ranting for no reason - 2006-06-19

Heart be still - 2006-06-15